allergy corner: Why Gluten-Free? GF Safe & Unsafe Ingerdient lists

Typically this is associated with Celiac’s Disease which is a sensitivity to gluten, which are proteins found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten-free nutrition therapy will allow your intestines to heal. It also will help prevent complications like bone disease that can happen if celiac disease goes untreated.

UNSAFE LIST & WHAT TO AVOID:

Wheat A.K.A:

  • Bromated flour
  • Durum flour
  • Enriched flour
  • Farina
  • Flour
  • Graham flous
  • Phosphated flour
  • Plain flour
  • Self-rising flour
  • Semolina
  • White flour
If the following ingredients are found in the food product and contains protein from wheat, the word “wheat” must be included on the food label either in the ingredient list or in the Contains statement.
  • Modified food starch
  • Dextrin
  • Caramel Color
  • flavorings
  • colorings
  • incidental additives
  • spice blend or seasoning mix-must state if it contains wheat
Products that may contain Wheat, Barely, or Rye
  • Bouillon cubes
  • brown rice syrup
  • candy
  • cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
  • communion wafers*- Ener-G Foods make gluten-free wafers. For Catholic’s with Celiac’s Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration has developed a low-gluten Communion wafer that conforms to Canon law. To order Benedictine Sisters or 1.800.223.2772
  • french fries
  • gravy
  • imitation fish
  • matzo*- Shemura oat matzos are produced in England by Rabbie E. Kestenbaum for Celiac’s
  • rice mixes
  • sauces
  • seasoned tortilla chips or potato chips
  • seitan
  • self-basting turkey
  • soups
  • soy sauce
  • vegetables in sauce
Barley AKA:
  • Beer, ale porter, stout, and other fermented beverages (note: distilled alcoholic beverages such as vodka and gin are Gluten-Free; in addition, there are gluten-free beers
  • Malt
  • Malt syrup or malt extract
  • malt flavoring
  • Malted beverages
  • Malted mil
  • Malted vinegar (Note: other types of vinegar–such as cider, wine and distilled vinegar are gluten-free)
Wheat Ingredients:
  • Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  • Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  • Atta Flour
  • Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Barley Hordeum vulgare
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer (most contain barley or wheat)
  • Bleached Flour 
  • Bran
  • bread Flour
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Brown Flour
  • Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts) 
  • Bulgur Wheat
  • Cereal Binding
  • Chilton
  • Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum) 
  • Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • cookie Crumbs
  • Cookie Dough
  • Cookie Dough Pieces
  • Couscous
  • Criped Rice
  • Dinkle (Spelt)
  • Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate 
  • Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
  • Edible Coatings
  • Edible Films
  • Edible Starch
  • Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
  • Emmer (Triticum dicoccon) 
  • Enriched Bleached Flour
  • Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
  • Enriched Flour
  • Farina 
  • Farina Graham 
  • Farro
  • Filler
  • Flour (normally this is wheat)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Germ 
  • Graham Flour
  • Granary Flour
  • Groats (barley, wheat) 
  • Hard Wheat
  • Heeng
  • Hing
  • Hordeum Vulgare Extract
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  • Kamut (pasta wheat) 
  • Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  • Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  • Kluski Pasta
  • Maida (Indian wheat flour)
  • Malt
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Malted Milk
  • Malt Extract
  • Malt Syrup
  • Malt Flavoring
  • Malt Vinegar 
  • Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  • Matza
  • Matzah
  • Matzo
  • Matzo Semolina 
  • Meringue
  • Meripro 711
  • Mir 
  • Nishasta
  • Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum) 
  • Orzo Pasta
  • Pasta
  • Pearl Barley
  • Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum) 
  • Perungayam
  • Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
  • Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum) 
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Roux
  • Rusk
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Semolina Triticum
  • Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  • Small Spelt
  • Spirits (Specific Types)
  • Spelt (Triticum spelta)
  • Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  • Strong Flour
  • Suet in Packets
  • Tabbouleh 
  • Tabouli
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii) 
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached Flour 
  • Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  • Vital Wheat Gluten
  • Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Wheat, Bulgur 
  • Wheat Durum Triticum 
  • Wheat Germ Extract
  • Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • Wheat Germ Oil
  • Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Grass (can contain seeds) 
  • Wheat Nuts
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Triticum aestivum 
  • Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  • Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
  • Whole-meal Flour
  • Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim) 
  • Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)
The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:
  • Artificial Color4
  • baking powder4
  • Caramel Color1, 3
  • Caramel Flavoring1, 3
  • Clarifying Agents4
  • Coloring4
  • Dextrins1,7
  • Dextrimaltose1,7
  • Dry Roasted Nuts4
  • Emulsifiers4
  • enzymes4
  • Fat Replacer4
  • Flavoring6
  • food Starch1, 4
  • Food Starch Modified1, 4
  • Glucose Syrup4
  • Gravy Cubes4 
  • Ground Spices4 
  • HPP4
  • HVP4
  • Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4
  • Hydrolyzed Protein4
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4
  • Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate4
  • Hydroxypropylated Starch4
  • Maltose4
  • Miso4 
  • Mixed Tocopherols4
  • Modified Food Starch1, 4 
  • Modified Starch1, 4
  • Natural Flavoring6
  • Natural Flavors6
  • Natural Juices4
  • Non-dairy Creamer4
  • Pregelatinized Starch4
  • Protein Hydrolysates4
  • Seafood Analogs4
  • Seasonings4
  • Sirimi4
  • Smoke Flavoring4
  • Soba Noodles4 
  • Soy Sauce4
  • Soy Sauce Solids4
  • Sphingolipids4
  • Stabilizers4
  • Starch1, 4
  • Stock Cubes4 
  • Suet4
  • Tocopherols4
  • Vegetable Broth4
  • Vegetable Gum4
  • Vegetable Protein4
  • Vegetable Starch4
  • vitamins4 
  • Wheat Starch5
1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.
3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.
4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.
5) Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.
6) According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): [t]he terns natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.
7) Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after: (1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin.
Additional things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet
  • Rice & soy beverages because their production process may utilize barely enzymes.
  • Bad advice from health food store employees (i.e. that spelt and/or kamut is are/are safe for celiacs).
  • Cross-Contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops).
  • Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc.
  • Lotions, creams and cosmetics (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis–rash)
  • Stamps, envelopes or other gummed labels
  • Toothpaste and mouthwash
  • Medicines: many contain gluten
  • Cerals: most contain melt flavoring, or some other non-GF Ingredient.
  • Some brands of rice paper
  • Sauce mixes and sauces (soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.)
  • Ice Cream
  • Packet & Canned Soups
  • Dried meals and gravy meals
  • Laxatives
  • Grilled restaurant food- gluten contaminated grill
  • Fried restaurant foods- gluten contaminated grease
  • Ground spices- wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping
GLUTEN-FREE SAFE INGREDIENTS:
  • Acacia Gum
  • Acesulfame K
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Acetanisole
  • Acetophenone
  • Acorn Quercus 
  • Adipic Acid
  • Adzuki Bean 
  • Acacia Gum
  • Agar
  • Agave
  • Albumen
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types) 
  • Alfalfa 
  • Algae 
  • Algin
  • Alginic Acid
  • Alginate
  • Alkalized Cocoa
  • Allicin 
  • Almond Nut 
  • Alpha-amylase
  • Alpha-lactalbumin
  • Aluminum 
  • Amaranth
  • Ambergris
  • Ammonium Hydroxide
  • Ammonium Phosphate
  • Ammonium Sulphate
  • Amylose
  • Amylopectin
  • Annatto 
  • Annatto Color 
  • Apple Cider Vinegar 
  • Arabic Gum
  • Arrowroot 
  • Artichokes 
  • Artificial Butter Flavor
  •  Artificial Flavoring 
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms)
  • Aspartic Acid
  • Aspic 
  • Astragalus Gummifer
  • Autolyzed Yeast Extract
  • Avena Sativia (Oats3)
  • Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3)
  • Avidin
  • Azodicarbonamide
  • baking soda
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Beeswax
  • Beans
  • Bean, Adzuki
  • Bean, Hyacinth
  • Bean, Lentil
  • Bean, Mung
  • Bean Romano (Chickpea)
  • Bean Tepary
  • Benzoic acid 
  • Besan (Chickpea)
  • Beta Glucan (from Oats3)
  • Betaine 
  • Beta Carotene
  • BHA
  • BHT
  • Bicarbonate of Soda
  • Biotin
  • Blue Cheese
  • Brown Sugar
  • Buckwheat 
  • Butter (check additives) 
  • Butylated Hydroxyanisole 
  • Butyl Compounds
  • Calcium Acetate
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Calcium Chloride
  • Calcium Disodium 
  • Calcium Hydroxide
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Calcium Pantothenate
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Calcium Propionate
  • Calcium Silicate 
  • Calcium Sorbate
  • Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Calcium Stearate 
  • Calcium Sulfate 
  • Calrose
  • Camphor
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cane Vinegar
  • Canola (Rapeseed)
  • Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
  • Caprylic Acid
  • Carageenan Chondrus Crispus 
  • Carbonated Water
  • Carboxymethyl Cellulose
  • Carmine
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Carob Bean 
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Carob Flour 
  • Carrageenan
  • Casein 
  • Cassava Manihot Esculenta 
  • Castor Oil
  • Catalase
  • Cellulose1
  • Cellulose Ether
  • Cellulose Gum 
  • Cetyl Alcohol
  • Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol 
  • Champagne Vinegar
  • Channa (Chickpea)
  • Chana Flour (chickpea flour)
  • Cheeses – (most, but check ingredients) 
  • Chestnuts
  • Chickpea 
  • Chlorella
  • Chocolate Liquor
  • Choline Chloride
  • Chromium Citrate
  • Chymosin 
  • Citric Acid
  • Citrus Red No. 2
  • Cochineal
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Coconut
  • Coconut Vinegar
  • collagen 
  • Colloidal Silicon Dioxide
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Copernicia Cerifera
  • Copper Sulphate
  • Corn 
  • Corn Gluten
  • Corn Masa Flour
  • corn meal
  • Corn Flour
  • corn starch
  • Corn Sugar
  • Corn Sugar Vinegar
  • Corn Syrup 
  • Corn Syrup Solids 
  • Corn Swetener
  • Corn Vinegar
  • Corn Zein
  • Cortisone
  • Cotton Seed
  • Cotton Seed Oil 
  • Cowitch 
  • Cowpea 
  • Cream of Tartar 
  • Crospovidone
  • Curds
  • Cyanocobalamin
  • Cysteine, L 
  • Dal (Lentils)
  • D-Alpha-tocopherol
  • Dasheen Flour (Taro)
  • Dates
  • D-Calcium Pantothenate
  • Delactosed Whey
  • Demineralized Whey
  • Desamidocollagen
  • Dextran
  • Dextrose 
  • Diglycerides
  • Dioctyl Sodium
  • Dioctyl Sodium Solfosuccinate
  • Dipotassium Phosphate
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Distilled Alcohols 
  • Distilled Vinegar 
  • Distilled White Vinegar 
  • Dutch Processed Cocoa
  • EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid)
  • Eggs 
  • Egg Yolks
  • Elastin 
  • Ester Gum 
  • Ethyl Alcohol 
  • Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid
  • Ethyl Maltol
  • Ethyl Vanillin
  • Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • FD&C Blue No. 1 Dye
  • FD&C Blue No. 1 Lake
  • FD&C Blue No. 2 Dye
  • FD&C Blue No. 2 Lake
  • FD&C Green No. 3 Dye
  • FD&C Green No. 3 Lake
  • FD&C Red No. 3 Dye
  • FD&C Red No. 40 Dye
  • FD&C Red No. 40 Lake
  • FD&C Yellow No. 5 Dye
  • FD&C Yellow No. 6 Dye
  • FD&C Yellow No. 6 Lake
  • Ferric Orthophosphate
  • Ferrous Gluconate 
  • Ferrous Fumerate
  • Ferrous Lactate
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Fish (fresh) 
  • Flaked Rice 
  • Flax 
  • Folacin
  • Folate
  • Folic Acid-Folacin
  • Formaldehyde 
  • Fructose
  • Fruit (including dried) 
  • Fruit Vinegar
  • Fumaric Acid
  • Galactose
  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Gelatin
  • Glucoamylase
  • Gluconolactone
  • Glucose
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Glutamate (free)
  • Glutamic Acid
  • Glutamine (amino acid)
  • Glutinous Rice
  • Glutinous rice flour
  • Glycerides
  • Glycerin
  • Glycerol Monooleate
  • Glycol Monosterate 
  • Glycol
  • Glycolic acid
  • Gram flour (chick peas) 
  • Grape Skin Extract
  • Grits, Corn 
  • Guar Gum
  • Gum Acacia
  • Gum Arabic
  • Gum Base
  • Gum Tragacanth
  • Hemp
  • Hemp Seeds
  • Herbs 
  • Herb Vinegar
  • Hexanedioic Acid
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Hominy
  • Honey 
  • Hops
  • Horseradish (Pure)
  • Hyacinth Bean 
  • Hydrogen Peroxide 
  • Hydrolyzed Caseinate
  • Hydrolyzed Meat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein 
  • Hydroxypropyl Cellulose
  • Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose
  • Hypromellose
  • Illepe
  • Iodine 
  • Inulin
  • Invert Sugar 
  • Iron Ammonium Citrate
  • Isinglass
  • Isolated Soy Protein
  • Isomalt
  • Job’s Tears 
  • Jowar (Sorghum)
  • Karaya Gum
  • Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
  • Keratin 
  • K-Carmine Color
  • K-Gelatin
  • Koshihikari (rice)
  • Kudzu
  • Kudzu Root Starch
  • Lactalbumin Phosphate
  • Lactase
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactitol
  • Lactose
  • Lactulose
  • Lanolin
  • Lard
  • L-cysteine 
  • Lecithin
  • Lemon Grass
  • Lentils
  • Licorice
  • Licorice Extract
  • Lipase 
  • L-leucine
  • L-lysine
  • L-methionine
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • L-tryptophan
  • Magnesium Carbonate 
  • Magnesium Hydroxide
  • Magnesium Oxide
  • Maize 
  • Maize Waxy 
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltitol 
  • Maltodextrin 
  • Maltol
  • Manganese Sulfate
  • Manioc
  • Masa 
  • Masa Flour 
  • Masa Harina
  • Meat (fresh)
  • Medium Chain Triglycerides
  • Menhaden Oil
  • Methyl Cellulose2 
  • Microcrystalline Cellulose
  • Micro-particulated Egg White Protein
  • Milk
  • Milk Protein Isolate
  • Millet
  • Milo (Sorghum)
  • mineral Oil
  • Mineral Salts
  • Molybdenum Amino Acid Chelate
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Monoglycerides
  • Mono and Diglycerides
  • Monopotassium Phosphate
  • monosaccharides
  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
  • Monostearates
  • MSG
  • Mung Bean
  • Musk
  • Mustard Flour
  • Myristic Acid
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Niacin-Niacinamide
  • Neotame
  • Niacin
  • Niacinamide
  • Nitrates
  • Nitrous Oxide
  • Non-fat Milk
  • Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Nut, Acron
  • Nut, Almond 
  • Oats3
  • Oils and Fats 
  • Oleic Acid
  • Oleoresin
  • Olestra
  • Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
  • Orange B
  • Oryzanol
  • Palmitic Acid
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Papain
  • Paprika
  • Paraffin
  • Patially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
  • Patially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil
  • Peas
  • Pea – Chick
  • Pea – Cow
  • Pea Flour
  • Pea Starch
  • Peanuts
  • Peanut Flour
  • Pectin
  • Pectinase
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Peppers 
  • Pepsin
  • Peru Balsam
  • Petrolatum
  • PGPR (Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)
  • Phenylalanine
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Phosphoric Glycol
  • Pigeon Peas 
  • Polenta 
  • Polydextrose
  • Polyethylene Glycol 
  • Polyglycerol
  • Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR)
  • Polysorbates
  • Polysorbate 60
  • Polysorbate 80
  • Potassium Benzoate
  • Potassium Caseinate
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Potassium Iodide
  • Potassium Lactate
  • Potassium Matabisulphite
  • Potassium Sorbate 
  • Potatoes
  • Potato Flour
  • potato starch
  • Povidone
  • Prinus
  • Pristane 
  • Propolis
  • Propylene Glycol 
  • Propylene Glycol Monosterate 
  • Propyl Gallate
  • Protease
  • Psyllium 
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Quinoa
  • Ragi
  • Raisin Vinegar
  • Rape 
  • Recaldent
  • Reduced Iron
  • Rennet
  • Rennet Casein
  • Resinous Glaze
  • reticulin
  • Riboflavin
  • Rice
  • Rice (Enriched)
  • Rice Flour
  • Rice Starch
  • Rice Syrup
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Ricinoleic Acid
  • Romano Bean (chickpea) 
  • Rosematta
  • Rosin
  • Royal Jelly
  • Saccharin
  • Saffron
  • Sago
  • Sago Palm
  • Sago Flour
  • Sago Starch
  • Saifun (bean threads)
  • Salt
  • Seaweed
  • Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Seed – Sesame
  • Seed – Sunflower
  • Shea
  • Sherry Vinegar
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat) 
  • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
  • Sodium Acetate
  • Sodium Alginate 
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sodium Caseinate
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sodium Erythrobate 
  • Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Sodium Lauryl Sulfate 
  • Sodium Metabisulphite
  • Sodium Nitrate
  • Sodium Phosphate 
  • Sodium Polyphosphate
  • Sodium Silaco Aluminate
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Sodium Sulphite
  • Sodium Stannate
  • Sodium Tripolyphosphate
  • Sorbic Acid 
  • Sorbitan Monostearate
  • Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms) 
  • Sorghum 
  • Sorghum Flour 
  • Soy
  • Soybean 
  • Soy Lecithin 
  • Soy Protein
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Spices (pure) 
  • Spirits (Specific Types) 
  • Spirit Vinegar
  • Stearates 
  • Stearamide 
  • Stearamine 
  • Stearic Acid
  • Stearyl Lactate
  • Stevia
  • Subflower Seed
  • Succotash (corn and beans)
  • Sucralose
  • Sucrose
  • Sulfosuccinate 
  • Sulfites 
  • Sulfur Dioxide 
  • Sweet Chestnut Flour 
  • Tagatose
  • Tallow 
  • Tapioca 
  • tapioca flour 
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Tara Gum
  • Taro
  • Tarro
  • Tarrow Root
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Tartrazine
  • TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
  • Tea
  • Tea-Tree Oil 
  • Teff 
  • Teff Flour 
  • Tepary Bean 
  • Textured Vegetable Protein
  • Thiamin Hydrochloride
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Thiamine Hydrochloride
  • Titanium Dioxide
  • Tofu (Soy Curd) 
  • Tolu Balsam 
  • Torula Yeast
  • Tragacanth 
  • Tragacanth Gum
  • Triacetin
  • Tricalcium Phosphate
  • Tri-Calcium Phosphate
  • Trypsin
  • Turmeric (Kurkuma) 
  • TVP
  • Tyrosine
  • Urad/Urid Beans
  • Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
  • Urad/Urid flour 
  • Urd
  • Vinegar (All except Malt)
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Vanilla Flavoring 
  • Vanillin
  • Vinegars (Specific Types)
  • vitamin A (retinol)
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin B1
  • Vitamin B-12
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin E Acetate
  • Waxy Maize
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • White Vinegar 
  • Wines
  • Wine Vinegars (& Balsamic)
  • Wild Rice
  • xanthan Gum
  • Xylitol
  • Yam Flour
  • Yeast
  • Yogurt (plain, unflavored)
  • Zinc Oxide
  • Zinc Sulfate

1) Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein.
2) Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads, etc.
3) Recent research indicates that oats may be safe for people on gluten-free diets, although many people may also have an additional, unrelated intolerance to them. Cross contamination with wheat is also a factor that you need to consider before choosing to include oats in your diet.

Advertisements

6 responses to “allergy corner: Why Gluten-Free? GF Safe & Unsafe Ingerdient lists

  1. Thanks for your own work on this web site. Kim take interest in going through research and it’s obvious why. A number of us notice all concerning the dynamic way you provide informative ideas by means of the web site and in addition encourage contribution from other ones on this topic then our own child is always understanding a whole lot. Have fun with the remaining portion of the year. You’re the one performing a fabulous job.

  2. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s