Jailbreaking your iPhone!

What is Jailbreaking?!  “It’s the process of removing the limitations imposed by Apple on devices running the iOS operating system through use of custom kernels. Such devices include the iPhoneiPod TouchiPad, and 2nd Gen Apple TV. Jailbreaking allows users to gain root access to the operating system, allowing iOS users to download additional applications, extensions, and themes that are unavailable through the official Apple App Store. A jailbroken iPhoneiPod Touch, or iPad running iOS can still use the App Store, iTunes, and other normal functions, such as making telephone calls. Unlike rooting an Android device, jailbreaking is necessary if the user intends to run software not authorized by Apple. A tethered jailbreak requires that the device be connected to a computer each time it needs to be booted; an untethered jailbreak allows the device to be powered without computer assistance. Under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, jailbreaking Apple devices is legal in the United States, although Apple has announced that the practice “can void the warranty”. -Wiki

So I successfully jailbroke my iPhone earlier for the first time. It’s super easy to do when you follow the simple instructions. But much to my surprise, I had some bugs with the new software when I downloaded my first app, it was stuck on the apple screen for forever! You’d think if I can change the LCD screen on my iPod, I’d be able to do this, right?! ….Yeah okay I figured it out, but that didn’t stop me from freaking out, I thought I broke it, as you can tell I was upset! I ended up having to rejailbreak it again…So I’m now looking for an untethered software! Word to the wise.. if you’re going to jailbreak…don’t use a tethered, because everytime you download or need to reboot you’ll have to rejailbreak/reboot by hooking up to your computer every time and it’s a pain. Obviously, I figured that out the hard way! So uhhh…Only get untethered jailbreaking software…just sayin’!

If you want to jailbreak your iPhone, iPod, iPad, etc., you can find the software on: jailbreakme.com or use iclarified.com/jailbreak. You’ll want to pull it up on your phone on Safari (it may tell you to do it on your computer if it’s a newer software) then you download and install, Vuala! Happy Jailbreaking! You’ll get the full use out of your phone 🙂

P.S. iOS5 comes out tonight so..wait a couple of days for our hackers to create a new jailbreak software update!

poor iphone.

rejailbreaking

happy iphone! 🙂

Join the Conversation

